Halfway to the MD Half

It’s mid February and I’ve come to the halfway point in my training for the MD Half Marathon. I can’t believe there are only two more months until race day!

I have run only one other half marathon – UnderArmour Half in October 2010 with minimal training and planned to run the MD Half Marathon in May 2011. I took it a little too hard, too fast and ended up with a knee injury that made me defer to running this year’s race.

I decided to run the MD Half Marathon to raise money for University of Maryland Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center. My grandmother passed away from cancer in 2008 and felt that fundraising through running was a great way to personally make a difference in the fight against cancer. Dad and the little brother tackled the 13.1 miles in 2010 and did a great job fundraising.

I wrote about my intent to race here and my actual training plan here. So far so good at the halfway point. I started strong with dedication and motivation to tackle every run but was hit with illness and had to take a couple week hiatus. I’ve been slowly getting back into the training plan but haven’t quite recaptured that something that motivated me in the first half of my training. I would have to say that speed runs are always a workout that I seem to magically forget … but I do love me a long run on Sunday.

For the second half of my training I am recommitting myself fully to running – especially speed runs. I just have to believe in what my legs can do – I won’t fall apart. I still plan to stick with a couple of easy runs, a long run, and alternating speed and tempo workouts every week. And to avoid injury, there will definitely be a more consistent effort to cross train.

I have a good feeling that if I keep the focus and remember why I’m doing this I’ll   fly across that finish line with my PR :)

Any motivational tips to keep dedicated through the tail end of training? I feel like I’m so close but sooo far away.

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

