Banana Cake FTW!

Good evening folks!

I had a pretty productive afternoon at Starbucks today with good ol’ fashioned timelines for the future. (Hmm what do I want to be when I grow up…)

I started to get antsy around 2pm so I headed to the local Giant to pick up the last couple of ingredients for my baking project.

I was pretty stoked to use up some over the hill bananas in a quick and easy recipe I found in my copy of Bon Appetit’s Fast Easy Fresh Cookbook by Barbara Kingsolver.

The recipe was pretty straightforward so there weren’t any additions on my part – except for the 1 cup of whole wheat flour I substituted because I ran out of AP flour. And without further ado:

Banana Cake with Sour Cream Frosting

Yield: 8 mini loaves or 10 pieces (if baked in 13×9 pan)

Prep Time: ~15-20 minutes

Bake Time: ~30 minutes

Cake:

2 c All Purpose Flour

3/4 t Baking Soda

1/2 t Baking Powder

1/2 t Salt

1 stick of Unsalted Butter – room temp

1 1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

3/4 c sour cream

~3 large bananas- mashed

2 T lemon juice

Frosting:

8 oz cream cheese

1/2 c sour cream

2/3 c confectioners sugar

Preheat your oven to 350

Butter and flour your baking pan

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl

In a separate bowl beat together sugar and butter

Add eggs and beat until fluffy

Add sour cream, bananas, and lemon juice

Add your dry ingredients to the banana mix and beat until well blended

Transfer your batter to your baking pan, bake for 15 minutes, turning, and bake for another 15 minutes or until golden brown


While your cakes are baking beat together cream cheese, remaining sour cream, and confectioners sugar for the frosting

Let the cake cool completely and then frost generously πŸ™‚

I hope these can make it until tomorrow’s movie marathon – but there are some curious members of the household chomping at the bit to have a taste.

Lunch

I was feeling kind of lazy so it was just a baked veggie patty smothered in ketchup with another frozen veggie mix Β from Green Giant. This mix of peppers, carrots, and broccoli was a total disappointment – watery, bland, and really heavy on broccoli stalk…

The afternoon/early evening was finished out with some cleaning and a 2 mile easy run with the boyfriend.

Dinner

Mom was super awesome and brought home some delicious charcoal Peruvian chicken with a small side salad.

We’re not entirely sure what these sauces are that accompany the chicken (just referred to as white and green lol) I’m pretty sure the white is made from mayonaise while the green is some sort of spicy pepper puree – both totally mandatory when eating this smoky bird.

Since I was dipping this chicken in mayo I did remove about half the skin but did enjoy some crispy crunchy pieces πŸ™‚

Now to finish this post because it’s pretty word and picture heavy and relax for the rest of the evening. Maybe search out some Star Wars themed cocktails…

Anyone else caught the baking bug recently? I think my baking kicks up when it gets chilly outside and really hits overdrive around the holidays.

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on December 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

