Bring it on 2012!!!

I hope everyone had a safe and happy celebration last night and aren’t hurting too much this morning πŸ˜‰ I decided that I wouldn’t get too crazy this year because I had big plans for my January 1st.

The new year started off with an epic 10 mile run – on the basement treadmill instead of the great outdoors to to get some quality reading time/ensure that I won’t get run over or inured πŸ˜‰ (already on the 3rd book in the series The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Next)

Schweaty and loving it πŸ™‚

With the new year comes new goals/resolutions/aspirations and, as I was reading around the blogging world, I was really intrigued by how everyone decided to set goals for themselves in 2012. In particular I was inspired with how Caitlin at Healthy Tipping PointΒ easily broke down her resolutions and totally made them feel attainable.

The process of starting with broader aras of Β life and then deciding on the big or small details really hit home with me and that’s how I’m going to tackle my plans for the new year.

*Fitness/Health

1. Run a sub 2 Half Marathon ( a PR!) during the Maryland Half Marathon in May

My training was pretty sporadic for my first half in October of 2010 but I still finished in 2:18 so with better dedication to my current training plan (which started after Thanksgiving) I plan to dominate this upcoming race!!!

2. Complete the New Rules of Lifting for Women

In my Senior year of college I only made it to about halfway through this weight lifting program but was really happy with the results that I saw and how I felt about my health so this time around I plan to finish it out strong with a pull up or two πŸ˜‰

3. Continued focus on eating clean and eating intuitively

My eats as of the end of this year were a little sloppy – I would start the day off right with some awesome breakfast and snacks but as the day went on I got lazy/busy/stressed and lost the clean eating focus. I think a renewed effort with actually planning out meals will help on that front. I’ve also become more aware of how my emotions affect my eating so with the new year I’d like to be able to recognize my emotional triggers and then deal with those stressors in a more positive way (no more late night mindless snacking)

*fitfoodnerd Blog

1. Consistently post at least once a day.

I will make a better effort to carve out some time in my schedule to devote specifically to my little space on the interwebs πŸ™‚

2. Quality content

I’d like to focus on finding my voice and sharing my nerdy passion for food and fitness with at least 1 “focused” post a week (whether it’s about an awesome power house super food or a new to me workout – I want to share useful information with whoever’s reading)

3. More recipes!

This goal goes hand in hand with my renewed focus on eating clean – when I cook from scratch I know just how healthy and clean my eats are so stay tuned for 1 new recipe a week. I’ll be covering the gamut from breakfast, soups, salads, desserts, etc.

4. Attend at least 1 blogging conference

I was really excited to see that fitbloggin’s 2012 conference is in my backyard – a super convenient way to (hopefully) experience my first blogging conference.

*Professional

1. Begin taking prerequisite courses to become a Registered Dietitian!

This is my top focus for 2012 and a huge life change for me πŸ™‚ After a shake up in my career at the beginning of December I had to sit down and re-evaluate how I wanted to spend the rest of my professional life. I quickly came to the realization that food would always be a constant in my career (I LOOOOVE food!) and I’ve seen and experienced the transformative powers that healthy and clean food has in a person’s life – so without hesitation (ok … maybe a little) I decided that I would begin taking courses at a local community college with the end goal of transferring to the University of Maryland – College Park to earn a degree in Dietetics and eventually become a Registered Dietitian!

2. Find a job that allows for all of #1 to happen!

I think first and foremost a job that provides a stable income with flexibility would be awesome πŸ™‚

Whew – that was a lot of words so a special thanks if your still reading! Now with all this positivity I’m totally ready to tackle whatever this year throws my way – Bring it on 2012!

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

