My (un)Triumphant Return to Yoga

Wow – This whole 9-5 thing is something I’m going to have to get used to. I guess this is grown up life for real #biggirlpants I’m happy to say that the training is going well – I don’t feel quite as lost as last week but the information is still coming hot and heavy.

Though it’s been a little busy around these parts I’ve kept going with my lifting, running, and eating (always eating – sometimes clean, a lot of this weekend was not). I want to focus and incorporate more cross training activities because I’ve definitely been noticing more aches and pains after my runs.

While going to school in Charlotte I set foot into a proper yoga studio for the first time and found my favorite style of yoga (so far) – the hot and sweaty kind. Being a poor student hot yoga at this particular studio was a once in a while treat but I supplemented with other yoga and piyo classes at my local YMCA while lifting and beginning to embrace running. (how active young Alex was before real world stepped in …)

Well fast forward a couple of years and I’m beginning to re-embrace fitness and thought “Hey, why not try that hot yoga thing again?” – I will be feeling that decision all day tomorrow. With that being said I decided to hit up my new gym’s hot vinyasa class tonight. What a humbling class – my body was so not prepared for what happened in that room.

Don’t get me wrong I don’t regret going but I do regret thinking my body could do more than it can right now. Yogis can say it til they are blue in the face but everyone is competing in that studio. And not with themselves – with that pretzel girl on the mat next you.

I fell into that “I’m just as flexible as you.” trap and really pushed it tonight. It wasn’t pretty or graceful or maybe even proper form sometimes (bad, so bad). I felt like the newest of the newbs with shaky limbs and sweat dripping in both eyes. But at least I can’t claim the title of the one who farted – several times – in class 🙂

I’ll be back next week hot vinyasa class – get ready.

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

