Work and Working Out

Work has definitely been keeping me busy with training and learning a lot of new things in a short amount of time… I’m proud to say this hasn’t thrown off my clean eating or working out efforts. I’ve had a habit to let rapid change and the stress that comes with that change negatively effect my healthy lifestyle.

So … I’m now known as the chick with the many many tupperware containers in the office lunch room. What can I say I like to have food readily available πŸ™‚ During the week I’ll always have a wicked delicious breakfast at home – oatmeal, eggs with greens and turkey bacon, or some greek yogurt with fruit and granola. Then move onto snacks/meals every 3 hours – dried fruit and nuts, sandwiches or salads with easy protein, or veggies with dip. I take no more than 15 or 20 minutes before I go to sleep to pack up my lunch – make sure I have enough fresh fuel for whatever my day has in store.

I’d like to have more actual pictures of what I eat to share but I’m still not super comfortable taking pictures of my food in the office – I don’t want to be the weird girl with too much tupperware and who photographs her meals…

To really make it easy on myself I’ve also joined a new 24/7 gym with some of my favorite group fitness classes (hot yoga studio inside of a gym??? yes please!) that is just 5 minutes from the office. The proximity to work finally makes it a little easier for me to get my ass out of bed for a morning workout without hustling around to not be late to work. So many treadmills, a spacious area for free weights, and (yes, I’ll mention it again) all the classes I love to take – I’m definitely in gymlove πŸ˜€ I think the quality of their indoor/outdoor pools might even convince me to give that whole swimming thing a try.

I know everyone’s different but this system has (so far) been working for me and helping me balance a 40ish hour work week, social life, and being fit. It really is true what everyone says – if you just take some time to plan out what you want to accomplish in the gym and how you’re going to fuel you’ll be set up for major success.

Any other 9-5ers have tips for eating clean and keeping fit while at work?

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

