What the MD Half Marathon Means to Me

Though last week marked the half way point of my half marathon training this week of training is what keeps me motivated and helps me push past my limits.

Four years ago this week my grandmother passed away from brain cancer. It came out of no where and happened too fast. Time has passed but I still tear up just thinking about what we shared and all of life’s experiences that have been missed.

She was a warm hearted, giving woman, that – no matter what obstacles she came across – always kept a positive outlook.

I’ll never forget her chicken fried steak with sawmill gravy or sour cream enchiladas. Her food was always as good as a hug when you were feeling crappy.

Our running family joke was her deep love of cheesy tv and movies. She always picked up the newest Steven Segal movie and watched the most outrageous Spanish novellas.

We lost her too soon but I know she’s watching my brothers and I and hopefully we’re making her proud. I know this post isn’t doing justice to everything I feel and want to say but it comes down to this: I’m running this race and fundraising to help kick cancer’s ass. (earmuffs grandma 😉 )

If you’d like please visit my fundraising page http://www.ummsfoundation.org/runningforwine and donate if you can. My goal is $200 and every little bit helps.

About fitfoodnerd

Attempting a balance of clean eats, fitness, and a post grad real life job. #puttingonmybiggirlpants

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

